

Kentucky Will Begin Issuing Compact Privileges March 21

ALEXANDRIA, Virginia, March 15, 2019 – The Physical Therapy Compact Commission (PT Compact) is pleased to announce that compact privileges will be available for the state of Kentucky starting Thursday, March 21, 2019, at 9 a.m. Eastern. This will bring the total number of states issuing compact privileges to ten, following lowa, Mississippi, Missouri, New Hampshire, North Dakota, Oregon, Tennessee, Texas, and Utah.

Physical therapists (PTs) and physical therapist assistants (PTAs) whose home state is lowa, Kentucky, Mississippi, Missouri, New Hampshire, North Dakota, Oregon, Tennessee, Texas, and Utah will be able to go to ptcompact.org to verify their eligibility and purchase compact privileges for one or more of the other remote states to have the ability to provide physical therapy services in the state(s) in which the compact privilege was purchased.

State jurisprudence requirements, associated fees, and waivers are available here.

Additional resources regarding eligibility requirements, the process and an F.A.Q. are available at ptcompact.org/resources-tools.

The PT Compact anticipates many more of its member states will be ready to begin issuing compact privileges in the coming months. As more states become ready to issue compact privileges, announcements will be made on ptcompact.org, the PT Compact email subscription list, Twitter, and news media.

The PT Compact is an easy, fast, efficient, and inexpensive alternative to the standard licensing process to obtain the privilege to practice in a remote state. However, not all PTs and PTAs may be eligible to participate. For more information on the eligibility requirements and rules for compact privilege seekers and holders please go to ptcompact.org.

###

Physical Therapy Licensure Compact

The Physical Therapy Licensure Compact (PTCC) is a state-based solution to the challenges of interstate licensure portability for physical therapists (PTs) and physical therapist assistants (PTAs). It will improve patient access to physical therapy services by giving eligible licensees in participating states a faster, less expensive alternative to traditional licensure. There are currently 23 members of the PTCC including Arizona, Arkansas, Colorado, Iowa, Kentucky, Louisiana, Missouri, Mississippi, Montana, Nebraska, New Hampshire, New Jersey, North Carolina, North Dakota, Oklahoma, Oregon, South Carolina, Tennessee, Texas, Utah, Virginia, Washington, and West Virginia.

Contact:

T.J. Cantwell, Compact Administrator Physical Therapy Compact Commission 703-562-8500 info@ptcompact.org http://www.ptcompact.org