

Physical Therapy Compact Commission Annual Meeting Minutes November 5, 2017

Hyatt Regency Tamaya Resort, Santa Ana Pueblo, NM

DELEGATES PRESENT:	Troy Costales, Oregon, Chair Kathy Arney, PT, North Carolina, Vice Chair Jeanne DeKrey, PT, North Dakota, Secretary/Treasurer Harvey Aikman, PT, Texas, Executive Board At Large Connie Clarkston, Missouri, Executive Board At Large Melinda Richardson, PT, Arizona, Executive Board At Large Michael Sobowale, Tennessee, Executive Board At Large Carolyn Armstrong, PT, Colorado Dawn Christian, PT, Montana Scott Majors, Kentucky Joseph Shanley, PTA, New Hampshire Shannon Singletary, PT, Mississippi (via phone) Mark Steinagel, Utah Andrew Wodka, PT, Washington
EX OFFICIO DELEGATES PRESENT:	David Relling, PT, FSBPT Angela Shuman, APTA
LEGAL COUNSEL PRESENT:	Rick Masters
COMMISSION STAFF PRESENT:	T.J. Cantwell, Compact Administrator

INVITED SPEAKERS:Jeffrey Rosa, Managing Director, Post Licensure Services, FSBPT
Leslie Adrian, Director of Professional Standards, FSBPT

Call to Order

Chair Troy Costales called the meeting to Order at 8:00 AM, MT.

Roll Call

Secretary/Treasurer Jeanne DeKrey called the roll. All 14 delegates were present, with the Mississippi delegate attending via phone.

Consent Agenda

<u>Motion</u>: Missouri moved to adopt the consent agenda. Colorado seconded the motion. The motion passed.

Appointment of the 2017 Minutes Approval Committee

Chair Costales appointed the following delegates to approve the November 5, 2017, Physical Therapy Compact Commission meeting minutes.

- Connie Clarkston, Missouri
- Scott Majors, Kentucky
- Mark Steinagel, Utah

Elections

Chair Costales opened the floor to additional nominations for the Executive Board. No nominations were made.

<u>Motion</u>: Texas moved to approve the slate of nominations for the Executive Board. Montana seconded the motion. The motion passed.

<u>Motion</u>: Texas moved to elect the slate of nominees for their respective positions by unanimous consent. Colorado seconded the motion. There were no objections.

The members elected to the PT Compact Commission Executive Board are:

- Troy Costales, Oregon, Chair
- Kathy Arney, PT, North Carolina, Vice Chair
- Jeanne DeKrey, PT, North Dakota, Secretary/Treasurer
- Harvey Aikman, PT, Texas, Executive Board At Large
- Connie Clarkston, Missouri, Executive Board At Large
- Joseph Shanley, PTA, Executive Board At Large
- Michael Sobowale, Tennessee, Executive Board At Large

Based on the Bylaws and blind lot Troy Costales, Jeanne DeKrey, Connie Clarkston, and Michael Sobowale will serve through the 2019 annual meeting. Kathy Arney, Harvey Aikman, and Joseph Shanley will serve through the 2018 annual meeting.

Status of the Compact Commission

Leslie Adrian, FSBPT Director of Professional Standards, provided an update on the introduction of PT Compact legislation and interest from non-member states across the United States.

Review and Adopt Rules

The Commission reviewed and addressed the public comments submitted on the proposed Rules, including the comments provided by members of the public attending the meeting.

<u>Motion</u>: Kentucky moved that the Physical Therapy Compact Commission adopt the Rules as submitted. New Hampshire seconded the motion. Secretary/Treasurer DeKrey called the roll.

Arizona	Yes
Colorado	Yes
Kentucky	Yes
Mississippi	Yes
Missouri	Yes
Montana	Yes
New Hampshire	Yes
North Carolina	Yes
North Dakota	Yes
Oregon	Yes
Tennessee	Yes
Texas	Yes
Utah	Yes
Washington	Yes

The motion passed.

Review and Adopt Bylaws

The Commission discussed the proposed Bylaws. Rick Masters recommended the Commission delete Article 5, Section 4B since it conflicts with the Compact statute.

<u>Motion</u>: Texas moved to delete Section 4B of Article 5 of the draft Bylaws to remove the conflict with the Compact statute. Kentucky seconded the motion. The motion passed.

<u>Motion</u>: Tennessee moved that the Physical Therapy Compact Commission adopt the Bylaws as amended. Colorado seconded the motion. Secretary/Treasurer DeKrey called the roll.

Arizona	Yes
Colorado	Yes
Kentucky	Yes
Mississippi	Yes
Missouri	Yes
Montana	Yes
New Hampshire	Yes
North Carolina	Yes
North Dakota	Yes
Oregon	Yes
Tennessee	Yes
Texas	Yes
Utah	Yes
Washington	Yes

The motion passed.

Review and Adopt Budget

Secretary/Treasurer DeKrey reviewed the proposed 2018 Commission budget.

<u>Motion</u>: New Hampshire moved that the Physical Therapy Compact Commission adopt the 2018 budget. Missouri seconded the motion. Secretary/Treasurer DeKrey called the roll.

Arizona	Yes
Colorado	Yes
Kentucky	Yes
Mississippi	Yes
Missouri	Yes
Montana	Yes
New Hampshire	Yes
North Carolina	Yes
North Dakota	Yes
Oregon	Yes
Tennessee	Yes
Texas	Yes
Utah	Yes
Washington	Yes

The motion passed.

Identification of Committees and Appointments

The Commission appointed members to the following standing committees:

Elections Committee

Mark Steinagel (Utah) and Andrew Wodka (Washington)

Rules and Bylaws Committee

Kathy Arney, Chair (North Carolina), Scott Majors (Kentucky), Joseph Shanley (New Hampshire), and Andrew Wodka (Washington)

Finance Committee

Jeanne DeKrey, Chair (North Dakota), Dawn Christian (Montana), Tina Kelley (New Hampshire), and Mark Steinagel (Utah)

Status of System and Issuance of Privileges

Jeffrey Rosa, FSBPT Managing Director of Post Licensure Services, provided an update on the development of the online compact privilege system.

Launch Strategy/Timeline

T.J. Cantwell, Compact Administrator, provided an overview of the next steps for the Commission regarding the timeframe and beginning to issue compact privileges.

Opportunity for Public Comment and Questions

Chair Costales opened the floor for further public comment. Comments and questions were asked by individuals from the public attending the meeting.

Future Commission Meeting Dates

The next scheduled annual meeting of the Physical Therapy Compact Commission will be October 28, 2018 in Reston, Virginia.

Adjournment

The November 5, 2017, meeting of the Physical Therapy Compact Commission was adjourned by Chair Costales at 10:20 AM, MT.