

# Physical Therapy Compact Commission Annual Meeting Minutes

October 25. 2020 Via WebEx

**DELEGATES PRESENT:** Kathy Arney, North Carolina, Chair

Harvey Aikman, Texas, Vice Chair

Jeanne DeKrey, North Dakota, Secretary/Treasurer Scott Majors, Kentucky, Executive Board at Large Charlotte Martin, Louisiana, Executive Board at large Joseph Shanley, New Hampshire, Executive Board At large Judd Warren, South Carolina, Executive Board At Large

Sam Denton, Arkansas
Joshua Greer, Arizona
Lorey Bratten, Colorado
Devashree Singh, Delaware
Anne Thompson, Georgia
Venus Vendoures-Walsh, Iowa
Laurie Kendall-Ellis, Maryland
Deborah McDonald, Mississippi
Connie Clarkston, Missouri

Jenn Noel, Montana

Claire Covert-ByBee, Nebraska Richard Stoneking, New Jersey

Kelly Berry, Oklahoma Aubree Benson, Oregon

Margaret Hansen, South Dakota

David Harris, Tennessee Mark Steinagel, Utah

Corie Tillman Wolf, Virginia Andrew Wodka, Washington Kathryn Zalewski, Wisconsin Nonnie Ramsey, West Virginia

**EX OFFICIO DELEGATES PRESENT:** Daniel Markels, APTA

David Relling, FSBPT

**LEGAL COUNSEL PRESENT:** Rick Masters

**COMMISSION STAFF PRESENT:** T.J. Cantwell, Compact Administrator

#### Linda Michelson, CFO

## Call to Order

Chair Kathy Arney called the meeting to Order at 3:16 PM, ET.

#### Roll Call

Secretary/Treasurer Jeanne DeKrey called the roll. A total of 28 delegates were present.

#### 2019 Minutes

The minutes of the October 27, 2019, annual meeting were previously approved by the Minutes Approval Committee [Barbara Behrens (New Jersey), Joseph Shanley (New Hampshire), Devashree Singh (Delaware), Judd Warren (South Carolina)] and no further action is required.

<u>Introductions and Acknowledgement of Guests</u> – Chair Kathy Arney

#### Appointment of the Minutes Approval Committee

Chair Arney appointed the following delegates to approve the October 25, 2020, Physical Therapy Compact Commission meeting minutes.

- Nonnie Ramsey, West Virginia
- Joseph Shanley, New Hampshire
- Devashree Singh, Delaware
- Judd Warren, South Carolina

# Appointment of the Teller Committee

Chair Arney appointed the following people to the Teller Committee.

- Aisha Nixon
- Michelle Sigmund-Gaines

Chair's Introductory Comments and Updates - Chair Kathy Arney

# **Review and Adopt Rule Amendments**

There were no public comments received regarding the proposed rule amendments. No comments or requests were made for a formal hearing therefore the Commission was permitted to make a final decision without a formal hearing.

There were no questions on the proposed Rules from Delegates or the public.

Motion: Adopt the proposed Rules amendments as submitted. The motion passed.

# **Review and Adopt Bylaws Amendments**

There were no questions on the proposed Bylaws amendments from Delegates or the public.

**Motion:** Adopt the proposed Bylaws amendments as submitted. The motion passed.

# **Review and Adopt Policies and Procedures Amendments**

There were no questions on the proposed policies and procedures amendments from Delegates or the public.

Motion: Adopt the proposed Bylaws amendments as submitted. The motion passed.

## 2020 Review and 2021 Projection Q&A

T.J. Cantwell answered questions regarding the highlights of activities and accomplishments during 2020 and projections for 2021.

# 2020 Legislative Update Q&A

T.J. Cantwell answered questions regarding the 2020 legislative activities and projections for 2021.

#### Elections

Per Bylaws, three positions on the PTCC Executive Board were open for election; Vice Chair and 2 Member-At-Large seats.

The slate of candidates for the open positions were:

Harvey Aikman for Vice Chair

Scott Majors and Corie Tillman Wolf for Member-At-Large

There were no nominations from the floor and therefore all positions were unopposed.

**Motion:** Approve the slate of candidates by acclamation. The motion passed.

Harvey Aikman was elected Vice Chair. Scott Majors and Corie Tillman Wolf were elected Member-At-Large.

All positions began immediately following the adjournment of the annual meeting.

#### Review and Adopt Budget

Secretary/Treasurer DeKrey provided an overview of the proposed 2021 annual budget.

**Motion:** Adopt the proposed 2021 budget as submitted. The motion passed.

# **Identification of Committees and Appointments**

Chair Arney provided the Commission with a list of volunteer appointments to the Elections, Rules and Bylaws, and Finance Committees. No additional volunteers were added and no objections were made therefore the appointments were made as follows:

## **Elections Committee**

Mark Steinagel Kathy Zalewski

#### **Rules and Bylaws Committee**

Harvey Aikman, Chair

David Harris
Scott Majors
Charlotte Martin
Michelle Sigmund-Gaines
Anne Thompson
Corie Tillman Wolf

#### **Finance Committee**

Jeanne DeKrey, Chair Claire Covert-Bybee Laurie Kendall-Ellis Kelly O'Connor Judd Warren

# Opportunity for Public Comment and Questions

Chair Arney opened the floor for public comment. There were no comments.

# **Special Acknowledgements**

Chair Arney recognized and thanked individuals for their support of the PT Compact Commission.

# **Future Commission Meeting Dates**

The Executive Board and Committees will meet on an as needed basis throughout the year. The next annual Commission meeting is currently planned to be virtual and will be scheduled later.

# **Other Business**

There was no additional business.

# Adjournment

The October 26, 2020, meeting of the Physical Therapy Compact Commission was adjourned by Chair Arney at 4:29 PM, ET.