

Physical Therapy Compact Commission Executive Board Meeting Minutes

January 29, 2020 Via WebEx

MEMBERS PRESENT: Kathy Arney, North Carolina, Chair

Harvey Aikman, Texas, Vice Chair

Jeanne DeKrey, North Dakota, Secretary/Treasurer Scott Majors, Kentucky, Executive Board At Large Charlotte Martin, Louisiana, Executive Board At Large Joseph Shanley, New Hampshire, Executive Board At Large M. Judd Warren, South Carolina, Executive Board At Large

Daniel Markels, APTA, Ex Officio David Relling, FSBPT, Ex Officio

COMMISSION STAFF PRESENT: T.J. Cantwell, Compact Administrator

FSBPT STAFF PRESENT: William A. Hatherill, CEO

Susan Layton Newman, COO

Linda Michelsen, CFO Richard Woolf, VP

Jeffrey Rosa, Managing Director, Post Licensure Services

Call to Order

The meeting was called to Order at 3:05 PM, ET by Chair Arney.

Approval of Minutes from October 18, 2019 Meeting

Minutes approved

Public Comment

No public comment offered.

<u>Discussion of Medicare Issue</u>

The PT Compact Commission (PTCC) is actively working with the American Physical Therapy Association (APTA) to get the Centers for Medicare and Medicaid Services (CMS) to issue national guidance as soon as possible directing Medicare Administrative Contractors (MACs) to recognize compact privileges as the equivalent of a physical therapy license for the purposes of provider enrollment and reimbursement.

Discussion and Vote on Audit Process

The PTCC's accounting firm recommended a financial review instead of a standard audit because it would provide a statement and documentation of the 2019 financials by the accounting firm without the extra cost of an opinion letter.

Motion Approved - To approve the use of a financial review for the 2019 financials of the Physical Therapy Compact Commission as recommended by the accounting firm and Treasurer, Jeanne DeKrey.

State of the Compact

Legislative Update - Mr. Cantwell

Compact State Implementation – Mr. Cantwell

Compact Privilege Issuance – Mr. Cantwell

Communications and Marketing Update – Mr. Cantwell

Rules and Bylaws Committee Update – Mr. Aikman

Next Meeting

Late April or early May unless necessary prior.

Adjournment

Chair Arney adjourned the meeting at 3:55 PM, ET on January 29, 2020.